Plagiarism and the Online Instructor

I am in the midst of grading essays submitted online on my D2L Courselink site. I came across a paper I suspected might be heavily plagiarized – not in the usual fashion as the student involved cited each part, but didn’t seem to understand that you should not lift whole sections from a book in place of using your own understanding and words.  I was not able to check the sources as they were available only in print form and I am not near a university library and in any case, given the work load, wouldn’t have time to drive to the library to find the book and check.

What to do?

One solution that occurred to me is to assemble a good bibliography of online sources for student use, and restrict essay topics to areas for which I can provide online sources.  In this fashion I can check easily for plagiarism.

About notlimey

I paint with words Poetry and prose I teach online and write about online teaching
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

