A New Term: Flexing your online teaching muscles

I haven’t posted since September here!  I plead pressure of work:  three courses in the Fall term with a total of about 300 students and teaching assistants assigned to only one course leaving me to interact with about 200 on my own.

This is less a complaint than a description of the nature of online teaching in this world where budgets for education are not exempt from the ongoing financial constraints of the modern world.  I was also writing in my other, parallel universe where I am a poet and in a third parallel universe where I write popular histories.

This term I have two online courses, having lost one to a full time instructor – the only teaching I do [did] in front of a live class.  One class has 90 students, the other 130 – though I do have one Teaching Assistant for the larger class.  So, an easy term.

Today I posted a welcome, where I gave newbies to the world of online courses a quick rundown of the parts of the D2L Courselink site they must pay attention to and where I provided contact information – my email, my Skype address and the open ‘ask your instructor’ forum.

I shall continue as I have begun, frequent and irregular contact with students as a whole and individually.

Hold on!

Irregular?

Well…… by that I mean, I do not force my interaction with students, whether the whole class, or individuals into timed boxes.  As in.. I never, never, never set a specific time of the week or  hour when I will answer queries or communicate in any other way.  I interact with students often, but when needed… where appropriate… to guide discussion in a good direction, or to put out flame wars, or to add information that occurs to me as students interact with me….. flexibility is the trick….

About notlimey

I paint with words Poetry and prose I teach online and write about online teaching
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A New Term: Flexing your online teaching muscles

  1. Pingback: A New Term: Flexing your online teaching muscles | The Instructor's Voice

Leave a Reply

